Global leaders in innovative, sustainable lobster management

Election Results for the WRL Board of Directors 2018

Nominations for the election of Directors were opened on 1 August 2018 for one A Zone representative, one B Zone representative and two C Zone representatives. When nominations closed on 17 August 2018;

  • A Zone did not require a ballot as there was only one nomination for the one vacant position. Peter Bailey has been re-elected as a Director for two-year term.
  • B Zone did not require a ballot as there was only one nomination for the one vacant position. Robbie Glass has been re-elected as a Director for a two-year term.
  • C Zone had three nominations received for two vacant positions. The candidates in order of nominations received are Kim Colero, Peter Stanich and Fedele Camarda.

Ballot papers were counted on Monday 17 September 2018, after 4.00 p.m. WRL’s independent Auditor and Returning Officer, Mr Phil Giglia, opened all replied paid envelopes and separated any email consent forms from ballot papers. Mr Giglia then validated each ballot paper before scrutineering the recording of every vote by the WRL Executives.

The election was decided by the number of votes received at the close of voting. Mr Giglia declared the result of the election with the announcement of the two elected Directors to be made at the 2018 Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Wednesday 19 September 2018.

A vote to fill the vacant Zone C positions saw the reappointment of Kim Colero and appointment of Fedele Camarda to the Board.

At the AGM, WRL Chair Kim Colero, thanked the Board for their commitment and contribution over the past 12 months and also gave particular thanks to Nic Sofoulis, who has now retired from the Board, and who has been a conscientious and valuable member of the Board over his tenure.

Mr Colero congratulated Fedele Camarda on his appointment to the Board. Mr Camarda is a third generation Fremantle lobster fisherman with over 30 years experience and who currently skippers his family vessel. He also holds a Bachelor of Arts in Education and remains active as a relief teacher. Mr Camarda has been involved with the western rock lobster industry since 2008 and was previously on the WRL Board from 2009 to 2011 serving as Chair for one year during this time. He is also currently on the Combined Zone C Association (CZCA) Committee. His experience in these representative bodies has been invaluable in terms of understanding the complexities of the industry and how important it is to have strong representation through the industry.

In accordance with the current WRL Rules of Association, the WRL Board Directors effective at the conclusion of the AGM on 19 September 2018 are:

  • Peter Bailey (Zone A)
  • Terry Lissiman (Zone A)
  • Robbie Glass (Zone B)
  • Clay Bass (Zone B)
  • Fedele Camarda (Zone C)
  • Kim Colero (Zone C)
  • Peter Hammond (Zone C)
  • Linda Williams (Zone C)

Following the AGM, at the Wednesday 19 September Board meeting, Mr Kim Colero was reappointed as WRL Chair and Mr Terry Lissiman reappointed as Deputy Chair. The WRL Board also re-elected independent directors Ms Karen Brown and Mr Peter Cooke for another one-year term on the Board.

Read more about each of the Directors here.

Posted in General, Industry News, WRL News