Global leaders in innovative, sustainable lobster management

Map of the fishery

The Western Rock Lobster fishery is divided into three zones: (A) Abrolhos Islands; (B) north of latitude 30°S; and (C) south of latitude 30°S (see map below). Historically, this has prevented concentrated fishing in some areas, and has also allowed for management that addresses zone-specific issues.

Commercial fishing management measures include:

  • areas closed to fishing;
  • lobster size limits;
  • protection for any females in breeding condition;
  • controls on the type of gear used; and
  • a limit on the catch for the whole fishery, known as Total Allowable Commercial Catch (TACC).
The Big Bank region in Zone B remains closed to lobster fishing due to concerns about the level of breeding stock